If you cancel appointments for a patient by completely removing them from the diary, you can set up a communication trigger using the "trigger event" Deletion - Single.

When you use the delete icon to completely remove an appointment from your diary, your patient will be sent a communication to advise that their appointment has been removed

There is a predefined template within WriteUpp, called Delete single appointment, which can be used alongside the trigger event for this purpose.  You can of course modify this to customise it to your requirements, or create a custom template to use. 

Please note that in order to receive appointment communications, patients must have been opted in to these on the patient tab of the patient summary.

If you'd like to set this up, just follow the steps below:

Go to Main Menu -> Settings -> Scheduling -> Appointment communication

 Click on New Trigger

Use the dropdown boxes to create your communication trigger, then Save:

Method - How would you like your patients to be informed?
Message template - What message would you like to send them?
Trigger event -  Deletion - Single

Once this is set up, if you remove an appointment from the diary within WriteUpp, the specified message will be sent to patients opted in via the relevant channel. 

This applies to appointments removed via either the web based verion of WriteUpp or if you are working via the WriteUpp app.
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!