Those of you using Apple devices to access WriteUpp might notice a new prompt appearing when you log in to WriteUpp via Safari. The message states:

"This password has appeared in a data leak, which puts this account at high risk of compromise. You should change your password immediately."

Don't worry, this isn't anything specific to your WriteUpp account and doesn’t indicate that your WriteUpp account has been hacked. The message is part of enhancements released by Apple as part of iOS 14 for both iPhone and iPad relating to the iCloud keychain.

Apple's iOS 14 release information states:

"Safari securely monitors your saved passwords to ensure that they have not been compromised in a data breach. To do this, Safari uses strong cryptographic techniques to regularly check derivations of your passwords against a list of breached passwords in a secure and private way that doesn’t reveal your password information — even to Apple."

The breach detection used by Safari lets you know if you’re using a password that may have been compromised elsewhere. For example, if you use the same password (say “Password123”) on lots of sites and you’ve used it on a site that has been hacked or suffered a data breach, your password will be listed as compromised. If you also use this same password to login to WriteUpp, Safari will let you know that the password is compromised and you should change it. It's precautionary and should be taken seriously but it does not mean that your WriteUpp account has been hacked. It simply means that you should change your password and ideally use a password manager like 1Password or LastPass to store and/or randomly generate complex passwords.

You can see any further security recommendations that iOS have regarding your saved passwords by going to Settings -> Passwords on your device, and checking out the Security Recommendations section.
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!