Test it yourself! Before using video consultations with a patient for the first time, we'd recommend trying it out with a test patient as a practice run. This will allow you to get a feel for the new screens, check your browser settings and allow your browser access to your camera and microphone

Once a video consultation has been booked into your diary, you'll have access to a new 'Switch to Video' icon at the top right of the appointment modal once you open an appointment:



For now, video consultations can only be initiated from the WriteUpp desktop site, and not via the WriteUpp mobile app. Watch this space! 😃

Clicking on this icon will take you to a new screen within WriteUpp where you'll see information on the scheduled appointment, an option to resend the clients video access link and a way to open the Waiting Room:



Clicking on Resend the URL will allow you to view and copy the clients video access link, if they have misplaced it.

Clicking on Open Waiting Room will open the secure video portal in a waiting room environment. The waiting room is just that, it provides an area where you can wait for the patient to join you for the call. The waiting room can be accessed at any time, but the call itself can only be initiated within 5 minutes of the scheduled start time. If you access the waiting room prior to this, you'll see an indication on screen of when the appointment is due to start.

The waiting room will open in a new tab of your browser, which allows you to have both WriteUpp and the video consultation open at the same time. Especially if you're working from a laptop or a desktop computer, this means you could have the windows open side by side, for example to complete an assessment or take notes during the session. To give you an idea of how this might look, this is a laptop screen, with WriteUpp open on the left hand side, and the video waiting room on the right:



Once you're in the waiting room ready for the call to begin, you'll see a couple of additional options on screen. You'll see information on the appointment due to take place, and again be able to capture the clients access URL. You'll also see controls to start the call, end the call and test your video and audio prior to beginning the call. Before the client has made the connection at their end, you'll also see that you are 'waiting' for them.

We'd really recommend that both clinician and patient use the 'Test video and audio' option before a video call, as it may help identify any issues at either end before you begin. It will also prompt the camera and microphone permissions request, providing an opportunity to fix any problems with access, again before the call starts

Once the patient has joined the patient waiting area, you'll see that they have arrived on screen.

You'll also receive a notification within WriteUpp itself that the client has arrived for their video appointment, unless you've chosen not to show these!

If for any reason the patient arrives and leaves the waiting room before the call has started, you'll also see this on screen.

The patient will be able to indicate to you that they are ready, so if both parties arrive promptly, you'll be able to see this and proceed with starting the consultation.
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!