Test it yourself! Before using video consultations with a patient for the first time, we'd recommend trying it out with a test patient as a practice run. This will allow you to get a feel for the new screens, check your browser settings and allow your browser access to your camera and microphone

When it comes to the start time of a video consultation, it's really easy to start the session from the booking in your diary. Once you've opened the waiting area in the immediate runup to the appointment, you'll see options to abandon and start the call, and test your video and audio at the bottom of the screen:



We'd really recommend that both clinician and patient use the 'Test video and audio' option before a video call, as it may help identify any issues at either end before you begin. It will also prompt the camera and microphone permissions request, providing an opportunity to fix any problems with access, again before the call starts

If for any reason the patient doesn't attend the call, you can press 'Abandon Call' which will terminate the consultation and "kill" the current access link. If you do abandon a call, you'll be asked to confirm, as once a call has been abandoned, the patient won't be able to use it to access a video consultation. If they click on it, they'll see a message advising that the consultation is no longer available.

You won't be able to click Start Call until the other party has arrived for the session and has indicated that they are ready, which you'll see on screen.

Once your patient has arrived and is ready, simply click on Start Call to make the connection and begin your consultation.

The first time you use the video consultation feature on a browser, or after clearing your history or cache for example, you'll need to allow the browser access to both your microphone and camera. Without this access, the connection won't work. The message you see will depend on what browser and device you're working from, but it'll look similar to these:

Safari:



Chrome:



Mobile:



If you accidentally deny access, you'll need to find the relevant settings in your browser and change the permissions to allow access to both your camera and microphone. Some browsers, like Chrome, will display an icon indicating that access has been denied:



Clicking on this will allow you to change the permissions and proceed with the call:



Once you've clicked on Start Call, and allowed access to your camera and microphone if necessary, the secure video room will open and the connection to your client will be initiated. Your client will also need to allow camera/microphone access at their end, so when the call begins, chances are you'll see something like this:



This just means that the connection is still being made. Once you're both set up correctly, the placeholder in the centre of the screen will be replaced with your patients video feed and you'll be able to proceed with your video consultation. If the centre of your screen is not replaced with the patients video feed, they may need to check their camera and microphone permissions in the browser they are using.
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!