There are certain events in WriteUpp which can automatically generate a communication to a patient.

These are:

Booking - Single - sends an immediate confirmation of an appointment
Booking - Recurring - sends an immediate confirmation of a recurring appointment
General Change - sends an immediate notification of a change to the date or time of an appointment
Status Change - sends an immediate notification of a status change.  Can be used to inform patients of a cancelled appointment
Deletion - Single - sends an immediate notification that an appointment has been completely deleted from the diary
Deletion - This and future - sends an immediate notification that a series of recurring appointments have all been deleted from the diary
Reminder - sends a scheduled reminder prior to an appointment
Booking - Online booking - send a confirmation of an online booking to a patient
Video booking - Single - sends an immediate confirmation of a video consultation
Video booking - Recurring - sends an immediate confirmation of a recurring video consultation
Video booking - Online booking - sends a confirmation of a video consultation booked via online booking to a patient
Video reminder - sends scheduled reminder prior to a video consultation

These events are referred to as Trigger Events.

When configuring your appointment communications, you'll select a delivery method, message template and a trigger event.  You also have the option to link an appointment type to a communication, which means it'll only be sent for an appointment booked with that particular type.

The delivery method defines how your patients will receive the information, the message template sets out what information you'll send them, and the trigger event tells WriteUpp when to send your messages.  Linking an appointment type allows you to send specific information to your patients depending on what they're booked for.

For the majority of the trigger events, your message will be sent immediately once the event has taken place within WriteUpp.  This cannot be changed.

For Reminder and Video reminder, you'll see a When? dropdown allowing you to choose at what point before an appointment the message is sent. Choices ranging from 7 days prior to the appointment, to an hour or two beforehand.
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!