When conducting a video consultation through WriteUpp, you have the ability to share your screen.

Screen sharing is available when using a laptop or a desktop computer, and can only be initiated by you, the clinician. Clients won't see the screen share icon and won't be able to share their screen with you.

Screen sharing is not available if you, as the clinician, are hosting the video consultation using a phone or a tablet, as mobile browsers used on these devices do not support screen sharing.

If you'd like to use the screen share functionality during a video consultation, please make sure you are using an up to date version of your chosen browser on your laptop or computer. You can read more about browser requirements for video consultation here, we'd recommend Chrome, Firefox, Edge or Safari.

To share your screen during a video consultation:

To start sharing your screen, click on the screen icon to the bottom of your video consultation window:



When using most browsers, including Chrome, Firefox or Edge, you can then choose what you'd like to share:

Chrome
Choose to show either your entire screen, a particular window or a specific tab, then click Share:



Firefox
Choose a window or screen to share using the 'Window or screen' dropdown at the top of the screen then choose Allow:



Edge
Choose to show either your entire screen, a particular window or a specific tab, then click Share:



Safari
If you are using Safari, the only option provided by Apple is the ability to share your entire screen. Once you Allow Safari to observe your screen, your whole screen will be shared with your client. There is no way to limit this to a particular window or tab:



If you'd prefer to choose what to share with your client, we'd recommend downloading and using Google Chrome on your Mac, which you can do here.

The content on the selected screen, window or tab will be shared with the client.

You can turn screen sharing off by again clicking on the icon, which will be highlighted blue while you're sharing your screen:



Before trying screen share with a client, we'd recommend testing it with a friend or colleague to familiarise yourself with the permissons and options available in your chosen browser!

Permissions for screen sharing on macOS

If you're using an Apple laptop or computer and using a browser other than Safari, you might need to grant additional permissions to allow your chosen browser to record your screen in order to display it via screen share.

For example, if you are using Chrome, you may see see this:



If you see this message:

Click on the Apple icon at the top left of your device screen
Navigate to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy > Screen Recording
Tick the box next to the browser you'd like to use

When using Safari, if you deny access to observe your screen in error, this can be fixed by opening the Safari menu and clicking on Preferences -> Websites -> Screen Sharing. You'll then need to change Deny to Ask:



Permissions for screen sharing on Windows

If you're using a laptop or computer which runs on Windows, screen sharing will use the browsers camera permissions, which must be granted before you're able to start a video consultation. You shouldn't have to grant anything additional to allow screen sharing to work.

Troubleshooting

Screen share icon isn't appearing

If you are conducting a video consultation and you don't see the screen share icon, this means you are using a browser that doesn't support it. Please check the recommended browser requirements and make sure you using the most up to date version of your browser.

Nothing happens when the icon is clicked

If nothing happens when you click the icon, you might have denied permissions in error. Please check your operating system and browser settings to make sure that screen sharing/camera permissions have not been blocked.

For any other issues, please don't hesitate to get in touch with the team via live chat!
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!