When creating documents in WriteUpp, you have the ability to choose between:

Automatically locking your documents after 24 hours
No automatic locking and maintaining editability (with the protection of version history)

In both cases, version history has been implemented so you have a full audit trail of changes made to the document and you also have the ability to manually lock it (thereby rendering it non-editable) if you wish to do so. 

If you don't want WriteUpp to automatically lock your documents 24 hours after they are created, you can turn this functionality off by going to Settings -> General (Site Admin only) and moving the “auto lock” switch to the left:



Making this change will mean that documents will continue to be editable long after they've been created as they will not be locked after 24 hours. However with the presence of version history, you will be able to see every save that has been made to the document, including when it was made and by whom.

To see the version history for a document go to the Patient Summary, select the Documents tab and open an existing document. At the bottom of the screen click on View History:



You'll then see a modal detailing the history of the document:



From here, clicking on the eye icon within a line will open up that particular version of the document as it was when it was saved:



Clicking on the double arrow icon allows you to revert the document back to that particular version, replacing the current content:



Historic versions of documents cannot be edited.

If you would like to manually lock a document so that it is no longer editable (regardless of the "auto lock" setting), you can click on the lock icon at the bottom of the documents screen:



This will only appear once you have made the first save of a document and will not save any changes made since the previous save. When you click on, it you will be warned that locking the document will lose unsaved changes and prevent further amendments:



When you click on OK, you'll be taken back to the locked document.

Hovering your mouse over the key icon at the bottom of the screen will show who locked the document.

Site administrators have the ability to unlock a manual or automatically locked document created by either themselves or another user. If a document has been prematurely locked to changes, just click on the key icon at the bottom of the screen to open it again:



You'll then see confirmation that it's been unlocked, with no need to save the changes to take this into account.
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!